11 June 1998. Wembley, London, UK
Televised in 67 countries for 11.5 hrs
Tribute's chairman Tony Hollingsworth spent 12 months organising this colossal event which was broadcast to 67 countries for 11½ hours, reaching an audience of 600 million; setting the world's ratings record for any "Entertainment broadcast."

At the beginning of the campaign Nelson Mandela was referred to by the world's press as "the black terrorist leader of the ANC;" after the event they talked of him as "the imprisoned leader of the ANC."
ARTISTS: Al Green, Ali McGraw, Amabutho, Amapondo, Arnhem Land Dance Troupe, Ashford and Simpson, Aswad, Bee Gees, Billy Connolly, Bryan Adams , Chrissie Hynde, Chubbyy Checker, Corbin Bernsen, Courtney Pine, Curt Smith, Daryl Hannah, David Sanborn, Denzil Washington, Derek B., Dire Straits, Emily Lloyd, Eric Clapton, Eurythmics, Farafina, Fat Boys, Fish, Freddie Jackson, Fry & Laurie, George Michael, Graham Chapman, Gregory Hines, Grupo Experimental de Dansa, Harry Enfield, Harry Belafonte, H.B. Barnum, Hugh Masakela, IDJ Dancers, Jackson Browne, Jennifer Beals, Jerry Dammers, Jessye Norman, Joan Armatrading, Joe Cocker, Johnny Marr, Jonas Gwangwa, Jonathan Butler, Lenny Henry, Little Steven, Mahlatini & The Mahotella Queens, Mark Kelly, Meatloaf, Michael Palin, Mick Karn, Midge Ure, Miriam Makeba, Natalie Cole, Paul Young, Paul Carrack, Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Philip Michael Thomas, Ray Lema, Richard Gere, Salif Keita, Salt 'n' Pepa, Simple Minds, Sir Richard Attenborough, Sly & Robbie, Steve Norman, Stevie Wonder, Sting, Tony Hadley, Tracy Chapman, UB40, Wet Wet Wet, Whitney Houston, Whoopi Goldberg, Youssou N'Dour

Producer: Tony Hollingsworth
Presenters' Producers: Tisha Fein, Charles Brand
Directors: Phil Chilvers, David G. Croft, Ken O'Neill
Production Design: Fisher Park Limited
Sound Production: Bob Clearmountain, Steve Parr
Lighting Design: Alan Branton, Chas Harrington, Kieran Healy
Production Manager: Roger Searle
Stage and Poster Art: Sue Coe, Keith Haring, Malangatana Ngewenya, Mandy O'Shaighnessy, 4i Limited, Cheryll Park, Ralph Steadman, John Muafangejo